unixdev.net


Switch to SpeakEasy.net DSL

The Modular Manual Browser

Home Page
Manual: (SunOS-4.1.3)
Page:
Section:
Apropos / Subsearch:
optional field

UNCONFIGURE(8)              System Manager's Manual             UNCONFIGURE(8)



NAME
       unconfigure - reset the network configuration for a Sun386i system

SYNOPSIS
       /usr/etc/unconfigure [ -y ]

AVAILABILITY
       Available  only  on  Sun  386i systems running a SunOS 4.0.x release or
       earlier.  Not a SunOS 4.1 release feature.

DESCRIPTION
       unconfigure restores most of the system configuration and status  files
       to  the state they were in when delivered by Sun Microsystems, Inc.  It
       also deletes all user accounts (including  home  directories),  Network
       Information Service (NIS) information, and any diskless client configu-
       rations that were set up.

       After running unconfigure, a system halts.  Rebooting it to  multi-user
       mode at this point will start automatic system installation.

       unconfigure is intended for use in the following situations:

       o  As one of the final steps in Software Manufacturing.

       o  In  systems  being  set up with temporary configurations, holding no
          user accounts or diskless clients.  These will occur  during  demon-
          strations and evaluation trials.

       o  To allow systems that had been used as standalones to be upgraded to
          join a network in a role  other  than  as  a  master  server.   (See
          instructions later.)

       unconfigure is potentially a dangerous utility; it does not work unless
       invoked by the super-user.  As a  warning,  unless  the  -y  option  is
       passed,  it  will  require  confirmation that all user files and system
       software configuration information is to be deleted.

       This utility is not recommended for routine use of any sort.

   Resetting Temporary Configurations
       If users need to set up and tear down configurations,  unconfigure  can
       be  used to restore the system to an essentially as-manufactured state.
       The main concern here is that user accounts will be  deleted,  so  this
       should not be done casually.

       To  reset  a  temporary  configuration,  just become the super-user and
       invoke unconfigure.

   Upgrading Standalones to Network Clients
       Systems that are going to be networked should  be  networked  from  the
       very  first, if at all possible.  This eliminates whole classes of com-
       patibility problems, such as pathnames and (in particular) user account
       clashes.

       Automatic  system  installation  directly  supports  upgrading a single
       standalone system to an NIS master, and joining any  number  of  unused
       systems  (or  systems  upon which unconfigure has been run) into a net-
       work.

       However, in the situation where standalone systems that have been  used
       extensively  are  to be joined to a network, unconfigure can be used in
       conjunction with  automatic  system  installation  by  a  knowledgeable
       super-user  to  change a system's configuration from standalone to net-
       work client.  This procedure is not recommended for  use  by  inexperi-
       enced administrators.

       The  following  procedure  is  not needed unless user accounts or other
       data need to be preserved; it is intended to ensure that every UID  and
       GID is changed so as not to clash with those in use on the network.  It
       must be applied to each system that is being upgraded from a standalone
       to a network client.

       The procedure is as follows:

       o   Identify  all  accounts  and  files that you will want to save.  If
           there are none, just run unconfigure and install the system on  the
           network.  Do not follow the remaining steps.

       o   Copy /etc/passwd to /etc/passwd.bak.

       o   Rename  all  the  files  (including  home directories) so that they
           aren't deleted.  (See FILES below.)  These will probably be only in
           /export/home.

       o   Run unconfigure and install the system on the network.

       o   For  each  account listed in /etc/passwd.bak that you want to save,
           follow this procedure:

           o   Create a new account on the network; if the UID and GID are the
               same  as  in  /etc/passwd.bak  on the standalone, then skip the
               next step.  However, be sure that you do not make two different
               accounts with the same UID.

           o   Use  the `chown -R' command to change the ownership of the home
               directories.

           o   You may need to rename the files you just  chowned  above,  for
               example  to  ensure  that  they  are the user's home directory.
               This may involve updating the auto.home(5) and auto.home(5) NIS
               maps, as well.

       o   Delete /etc/passwd.bak.

FILES
       unconfigure deletes the following files, if they are present, replacing
       some of them with the distribution version if one is supposed to exist:

       lfB   lfB   lfB   lfB   .     /etc/.rootkey  /etc/ethers    /etc/local-
       time /etc/publickey
       /etc/auto.home /etc/exports   /etc/net.conf  /etc/sendmail.cf
       /etc/auto.vol  /etc/fstab     /etc/netmasks  /etc/syslog.conf
       /etc/bootparams     /etc/group     /etc/networks  /etc/systems
       /etc/bootservers    /etc/hosts     /etc/passwd    /single/ifconfig
       /var/sysex/*

       and all files in /var/yp except those distributed  with  the  operating
       system.

       unconfigure truncates all files in /var/adm.  All user home directories
       in /export/home are deleted, except those for the default user  account
       users, which is shipped with the operating system.  All diskless client
       configuration information stored in /export/roots,  /export/swaps,  and
       /export/dumps is deleted.

SEE ALSO
       chgrp(1), find(1), group(5), passwd(5) adduser(8), chown(8),

BUGS
       More of the system configuration files should be reset.

       This  does  not yet support taking a workstation off the network tempo-
       rarily, for example, to take it home over the  weekend  for  use  as  a
       standalone,  or  to  move  it to another network while traveling.  This
       should be the default behavior.

       The procedure for upgrading standalones to network  clients  should  be
       automated; currently, only upgrading a standalone to a master server is
       automated.

NOTES
       The Network Information Service (NIS) was formerly known as Sun  Yellow
       Pages  (YP).   The  functionality of the two remains the same; only the
       name has changed.



                               24 February 1988                 UNCONFIGURE(8)