unixdev.net


Switch to SpeakEasy.net DSL

The Modular Manual Browser

Home Page
Manual: (HP-UX-11.11)
Page:
Section:
Apropos / Subsearch:
optional field



 lvremove(1M)							lvremove(1M)




 NAME
      lvremove - remove one or more logical volumes from LVM volume group

 SYNOPSIS
      /usr/sbin/lvremove [-A autobackup] [-f] lv_path ...

    Remarks
      lvremove cannot be performed if the volume group is activated in shared
      mode.

 DESCRIPTION
      The lvremove command removes each logical volume specified by
      lv_path ....

      Logical volumes must be closed before they can be removed.  For
      example, if the logical volume contains a file system, unmount the
      file system before removing it.

    Options and Arguments
      lvremove recognizes the following options and arguments:

	   lv_path	       The block device path name of a logical
			       volume.

	   -A autobackup       Set automatic backup for this invocation of
			       this command.  autobackup can have one of the
			       following values:

				    y	 Automatically back up configuration
					 changes made to the logical volume.
					 This is the default.

					 After this command executes, the
					 vgcfgbackup command (see
					 vgcfgbackup(1M)) is executed for
					 the volume group to which the
					 logical volume belongs.

				    n	 Do not back up configuration
					 changes this time.

	   -f		       Specify that no user confirmation is
			       required.

 EXTERNAL INFLUENCES
    Environment Variables
      LANG determines the language in which messages are displayed.

      If LANG is not specified or is null, it defaults to "C" (see lang(5)).





 Hewlett-Packard Company	    - 1 -   HP-UX Release 11i: November 2000






 lvremove(1M)							lvremove(1M)




      If any internationalization variable contains an invalid setting, all
      internationalization variables default to "C" (see environ(5)).

 EXAMPLES
      Remove a logical volume without requiring user confirmation:

	   lvremove -f /dev/vg01/lvol5

 WARNINGS
      This command destroys all data in the specified logical volumes.

 SEE ALSO
      lvchange(1M), umount(1M).









































 Hewlett-Packard Company	    - 2 -   HP-UX Release 11i: November 2000