Switch to SpeakEasy.net DSL

The Modular Manual Browser

Home Page
Manual: (OSF1-V5.1-alpha)
Apropos / Subsearch:
optional field

XConsortium(1X)						      XConsortium(1X)
X11R6									X11R6


  XConsortium -	X Consortium information


  Release 6 of X Version 11 is brought to you by X Consortium, Inc.


  The X	Consortium is an independent, not-for-profit Delaware membership cor-
  poration.  It	was formed in 1993 as the successor to the MIT X Consortium.
  The purpose of the X Consortium is to	foster the development,	evolution,
  and maintenance of the X Window System, a comprehensive set of vendor-
  neutral, system-architecture neutral,	network-transparent windowing and
  user interface standards.

  The X	Window System was created in the mid-1980s at the Massachusetts
  Institute of Technology.  In 1988, MIT formed	a member-funded	consortium to
  provide the technical	and administrative leadership necessary	to support
  further development of the X Window System.  In 1992,	MIT and	the member-
  ship decided it was in their best interests to move the consortium out of
  MIT and create an independent, stand-alone organization.  All	rights to the
  X Window System were assigned	by MIT to X Consortium,	Inc. on	January	1,

  The X	Consortium is financially self-supporting through membership fees.
  There	are no license fees associated with the	use of X Window	System stan-
  dards	and code developed by the X Consortium.	 Membership in the X Consor-
  tium is open to any organization willing to execute a	membership agreement.

  The X	Consortium is a	highly participative body.  Members are	encouraged to
  actively cooperate with the staff and	other members in the design and
  review of proposed specifications, and in the	design,	coding and testing of
  sample implementations of those specifications.

  The X	Consortium accomplishes	most of	its work using electronic mail over
  the Internet,	with individual	mailing	lists for working groups.  Internet
  electronic mail connectivity should be viewed	as a requirement for useful
  participation	in X Consortium	activities.  Meetings are held as necessary,
  often	in conjunction with industry conferences and trade shows.


  Bob Scheifler, rwsATx.org, phone: (617) 374-1010

  Office Manager:
  Janet	O'Halloran, johATx.org, phone: (617) 374-1011

  Technical Director, Integration Technology:
  Ralph	Swick, swickATx.org

  Technical Director, Application Toolkits:
  Matt Landau, mattATx.org

  Technical Staff:
  Donna	Converse, converseATx.org
  Stephen Gildea, gildeaATx.org
  Jay Hersh, hershATx.org
  Kaleb	Keithley, kalebATx.org
  Ralph	Mor, morATx.org
  Dave Wiggins,	dpwATx.org

  Gary Cutbill,	rgaryATx.org


  The X	Consortium's activities	and affairs are	managed	under the direction
  and oversight	of a Board of Directors, elected annually by the Members.
  The Board is responsible for reviewing the achievements of the Consortium,
  approving planned work, appointing a President and other officers of the
  Consortium, and setting membership dues.  The	current	Directors are:

  Robert W. Scheifler, President, X Consortium
  Dr. Forest Baskett, Senior VP	of R&D,	Silicon	Graphics Computer
  Harold D. Blair, Partner, Partnerwerks
  Roger	S. Gourd, VP and Chief of Staff, Open Software Foundation
  David	Harris,	Director, Adobe	Systems	[ex officio as Chairman,
       X Industry Association]
  Dr. Robin Hillyard, Chairman and Chief Technical Officer,
       Novasoft	Systems
  Dr. Chong Lee, President and CEO, Phase X Systems, Inc.
  Don McGovern,	Vice President - UNIX Systems Group, Novell, Inc.
  Therese E. Myers, President and CEO, Quarterdeck Office Systems
  Peter	J. Shaw, President and CEO, AGE	Logic, Inc.
  Dan N. Turner, President and CEO, Petrotechnical Open
       Software	Corporation


  The X	Consortium can be reached at:

  X Consortium
  One Memorial Drive
  Cambridge MA 02142-1301
  Tel: (617) 374-1000
  Fax: (617) 374-1025

  To reach the X Consortium public Wide	World Web server, use the URL:

  To reach the X Consortium public ftp machine,	use anonymous ftp to:


  Adobe	Systems	Inc.
  Apple	Computer, Inc.
  Cray Research, Inc.
  Digital Equipment Corp.
  Fujitsu Limited
  Hewlett-Packard Company
  Hitachi Ltd.
  Hughes Aircraft Company
  IBM Corporation
  Kubota Corp.
  Megatek Corp.
  Motorola, Inc.
  NCR Corporation (representing	ADDS/NCR/AT&T)
  NEC Corporation
  Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation
  Oki Electric Industry	Co., Ltd.
  OMRON	Corporation
  The Santa Cruz Operation, Inc.
  Siemens Nixdorf Informationssysteme AG
  Silicon Graphics, Inc.
  Sony Corporation
  Sun Microsystems, Inc.
  Tektronix, Inc.
  Unix Systems Laboratories (includes Novell)


  CETIA	- Compagnie Europeene des Techniques de	l'Ingenierie Assistee
  Network Computing Devices
  Quarterdeck Office Systems
  Walker Richer	& Quinn, Inc.


  AGE Logic, Inc.
  ASTEC, Inc.
  BARCO	Chromatics, Inc.
  Congruent Corp.
  Diagnostic/Retrieval Systems,	Inc.
  Gallium Software, Inc.
  Georgia Institute of Technology
  Human	Designed Systems, Inc.
  Hummingbird Communications Ltd.
  Integrated Computer Solutions, Inc.
  Investment Management	Services, Inc.
  IXI Limited
  Japan	Computer Corporation
  Jupiter Systems
  KAIST	- Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
  Labtam Australia
  Locus	Computing Corporation
  Mercury Interactive Corp.
  Metheus Corporation
  Metro	Link, Inc.
  M3i Systems, Inc.
  Object Management Group, Inc.
  Open Software	Foundation
  O'Reilly & Associates, Inc.
  ParcPlace Systems
  Performance Awareness	Corp.
  Peritek Corp.
  Petrotechnical Open Software Corp.
  Phase	X Systems, Inc.
  SOUM Corporation
  Tatung Science and Technology
  Tech-Source, Inc.
  User Interface Technologies Ltd.
  Veritas Software, Inc.
  VisiCom Laboratories,	Inc.
  VisionWare Ltd.
  Visix	Software, Inc.
  Visual Information Technologies, Inc.
  White	Pine Software, Inc.
  The XFree86 Project, Inc.